top of page

Discover Sia's Vegetarian Blog

Vegetarian lover plays with traditional recipes
& takes them Vegan

Welcome to Sia's Vegetarian Blog.

Here you will find vegetarian/vegan meals, recipes, nutritional facts and how one can with simple adjustments transform a traditional dish into a healthier version.

I invite you to explore the diverse cultural traditions and cuisines of the world with me, through travel, cooking classes and my kitchen! Together we will share in these creations rich in aromas, colours and textures. 

I hope that you will find my entries both informative and inspiring so that they may encourage you to creatively begin adjusting and transforming your own personal menu. One that will not only be healthier for you, but also friendlier towards all living beings.

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureSia Karpathaki

Sia Karpathaki

Updated: Nov 17, 2018






When I think of my relationship with food and vegetarianism,, I would have to say it all began at the young age of 4 yrs old. Living in a household with a yogini mom who's positive example has often set the bar for my life, it was actually inevitable.


However, the mad cow phase during those years did also play a major role, as did the time period that followed when I resided with my mom in an ashram for some years, during her training as a yoga instructor.

Truth is I don't really remember a transition period, as for me it has always felt like a natural state. I can't imagine including meat in my diet, in fact this last year we have begun to replace a lot of the dairy products in our home! And though I am nowhere near veganism, I believe I am also not far!


Having done some research over time on why it is unnecessary to include meat in ones diet, it was most interesting to me to find, that humans actually began to consume meat during the ice age when everything had frozen.

If we also look at the human anatomy you will find that our make up is actually not one for consuming meat, where as the anatomy of animals is. Our intestines are extra long, meaning that what we consume stays in our system for a longer period of time, It is said that for us to fully digest meat, it takes at least a period of three days, and the meat actually begins to spoil while in our intestines. Where as in an animal eg a dog the intestines are short making digestion quick and easy. If we also look at our teeth, and compare them to those of an animal that is a carnivore, you will notice their teeth are pointy and sharp so that they can tear into the meat easier.

I came across many interesting facts in my research, but to add one more that was mind blowing for me, was that when humans are born their system actually produces it's own amino acids found in a meat based diet. It then stops producing once meat is introduced to their diet.


I won't go into the health benefits of vegetarianism right now, as I am pretty sure we all have some kind of knowledge around them. I do believe we have all heard at least something, or read as to how animals in the meat industry are being treated, and how these cruel, inhumane conditions affect us as well. Nor will I go into the injustice towards these living beings, in this short entry, but I will close here with a promise to come back and share my research on these topics again.

I love food, I love meeting new people, and I also love to travel! I have not done much of it, so having some time off this year seemed like the perfect time and way to combine the three!

Actually four or five, if we consider how much I enjoy writing, and as a millennial, taking photos as well!


Lastly I must also mention how much I love animals, and hope through this blog to show people that in making simple adjustments to traditional recipes, we can easily transform those recipes into a healthier version. Vegetarianism/Veganism isn't that hard to follow, nor need it be a totally different cuisine with totally different dishes. One can still enjoy their same menu with often just a slight adjustment.




436 views1 comment

Contact

Green Tea
Home: Contact
London Calling
London Calling
0 DAYS TO THE EVENT
London Calling to the faraway towns Pack your bags and fly fast, we await you downtown. London calling to Sia and team Big Ben is ticking, no not a dream!
17 Ιαν 2019, 1:40 μ.μ. – 26 Ιαν 2019, 3:40 π.μ.
London,
London, UK
Home: Events_Single
London Calling
London Calling
0 DAYS TO THE EVENT
London Calling to the faraway towns Pack your bags and fly fast, we await you downtown. London calling to Sia and team Big Ben is ticking, no not a dream!
17 Ιαν 2019, 1:40 μ.μ. – 26 Ιαν 2019, 3:40 π.μ.
London,
London, UK
Home: Events_Single
bottom of page